REPAIR

studio theory diary

start.

leave a comment »

I have decided to keep a blog for textiles studio theory. I kept blog for a while last year and, while I often struggled with disciplining myself to make regular posts, I really enjoyed the process. I like the way that you can collect and develop ideas, and link back to websites that inspire you. I also like the informality. So here goes:

This semester we are using the theme of repair to examine textiles. Repair is a verb, and so it implies action. A process in which something is restored to its full being. To replace a part. To mend something that broken or damaged.

Repair can be both a literal and conceptual theme, and a spectrum of possibilities in-between. I just googled ‘repair’ in the hope of finding something else relevant to include in this introductory section. Mostly it was just cars. And bodies (which when you come down to it are really a type of machine). Set by set guides to fix a clearly established problem. A list of the tools you will need. A set of instructions.

Written by yasmin1m

April 3, 2011 at 5:04 am

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

